A Buoyant Beginning

A Buoyant Beginning

Team MM | Aug 01, 2016

  • 0

NIT Rourkela Alumni Association (NITRAA) conducted its 51st annual induction ceremony on Sunday, the 17th of April, 2016. It was held with the intention to induct final year students into the NITRAA with the hope that the infusion of new blood shall aid in further strengthening institute-alumni relations.

The event started at 7:15 pm and was co-anchored by the freshmen Nikhil Vobilisetty and Srilekha Kaavya who addressed an audience largely composed of the future alumni; the current graduating batch of the institute.


The program started off on a socially conscious note, with a video depicting the baby steps taken by the institute’s own homegrown NGO, Bless ‘n’ Bliss, to pay back to society. This was followed by a small speech by Mr. Kirti Sai Shukla, a recently graduated alumnus who co-founded the company Estinno, makers of the world’s smallest washing machine. He briefed the audience about his team’s other entrepreneurial efforts and their vision. This was followed by the dignitaries Mr. Bharat Bhusan Mohanty, President NITRAA, Prof. Bidyadhar Subudhi, Dean Alumni Relations, Biswajit Mishra, Gen. Secy., NITRAA, Ms. Soma Mandal, Mr. Madhusudhan Padhi, Mr. Sanjay N. and the Chief Guest Prof. S.K. Sarangi were invited to light the auspicious lamp and take their seats on the dais.


The lamp was lit while students from RITVIC Club recited shlokas pertinent to auspiciousness. The event then continued forward, with a speech from Dr. Bidyadhar Subudhi, an Electrical Engineering alumnus of the class of 1988 who is currently the Dean Alumnus Relations. Then Mr. Bharat Bhusan Mohanty, an alumnus of the class of 1969 and the current president of NITRAA, addressed the gathering. Then the Asim Choudhary memorial award and the Sailalata award for outstanding chemical engineer were presented.


Following the address of the aforementioned dignitaries, Prof. S.K. Sarangi provided the final address for the evening. This was succeeded by memento presentation to the guests and a vote of thanks by the NITRAA treasurer which marked the end of an eventful evening.

DISCLAIMER: The content, opinions or views expressed on the Monday Morning's website and its social media platforms, including, but not limited to Facebook, Instagram and Twitter pages, are strictly the property of Monday Morning and represent the extensive research and work of the working team of respective academic year of Monday Morning and not those of the institute. The reports and statements published are consolidated from the collected background research and interviews. The institute's official statements can be found in the press releases published by the institute or via an RTI application.

No article or any statements by Monday Morning is to be reproduced, presented or distributed in part or whole without prior permission of the Executive Body of Monday Morning for any purposes, including, but not limited to print and electronic form.


    Leave a comment

    Login to comment.
    Ask a Question Forum