Nourishing the Nostalgia: NITRAA Homecoming and Inductions

Nourishing the Nostalgia: NITRAA Homecoming and Inductions

Maneesh Rout | May 28, 2018

  • 0

The National Institute of Technology Rourkela Alumni Association (NITRAA) in association with Centre for Alumni Relation & Resource Generation (AR & RG), NIT Rourkela organised its 54th Annual Homecoming and Alumni Induction Ceremony on 12th May, 2018 at Prof. Bhubaneswar Behera Auditorium (BBA) to welcome back its alumni and receive the graduating students of 2018 batch as new members of NITRAA.

Over 200 participants comprising alumni, faculties, and students from final years had turned up for this auspicious occasion. The event commenced at 7:15 pm and was anchored by Ms. Ipsita Swain.

The customary lamp lighting, followed by prayers marked the inauguration of the event. Shri Fakir Charan Mohanty, an alumnus of 1971 batch, Managing Director of Poly Refractories Rourkela and Rotary District Governor Elect was the esteemed chief guest of the occasion. Dr. Ajodhya Nath Das, an alumnus of 1980 batch, GM(HRD) MTI, SAIL and active member of NITRAA as EC member was the Guest of Honour for the occasion. Other dignitaries included Prof. S. Panigrahi (Director-in-charge, NIT Rourkela), Prof. S. K. Patel (Vice President of NITRAA), Prof. S. Meher (Dean, Alumni Relations), Dr. S. K. Behera (General Secretary, NITRAA) and Shri Bimal Bisi (Treasurer, NITRAA).


Welcoming everyone at the ceremony, Dr. S. K. Behera congratulated every final year student for completing the journey till the bachelor’s level and wished success in life. He briefed about what NITRAA is and the role NITRAA has to play in the development of the institute and its students. Emphasising on the history, objectives, and activities of NITRAA, he was quoted as saying

  “This association has been for the institute, for the faculties, for the students and for the alumni”


While Prof. S Meher congratulated the graduating students wishing them success in the future, Dr. Patel applauded the various contributions NITRAA has made to the institution and requested the gathering to keep in touch with the institute.

The event witnessed Award Ceremony for various student and alumni. The Debashis Memorial Award for the Best Allrounder student of the graduating batch of Chemical Engineering was awarded to Ms. Aratrika Ghosh while the Asim Choudhury Memorial Award for Best Academic Performer of the graduating batch of Electrical Engineering was awarded to Mr. Anubhab Ghose. The prestigious Shailalata Memorial Award for the Best Alumnus of Chemical Engineering of NIT, Rourkela having an outstanding contribution to the core activities of Chemical Engineering profession was awarded to Mr. Jagjivan Rath, an alumnus of 1970 Batch, Former Executive Director of Indian Oil Corporation Limited for his contribution to research in Indian Oil. He was the recipient of the award for the year 2017 while the recipient for the year 2018 was Mr. Chandrakant Laxminarayan Rathi, an alumnus of 1976 batch, Managing Director of Advanced Enzymes Technologies, Mumbai.

The esteemed Guest of Honour of the evening, Dr. Ajodhya Nath Das was overwhelmed in addressing the graduating students welcoming them to the NITRAA. He recommended the students to associate themselves with social and professional bodies including NITRAA which would benefit them in their overall development. In his inspirational address, he stressed how an alumnus must adjust according to his novel environment.

The chief guest, Shri Fakir Charan Mohanty was pleased with the turn out at the gathering. Advising the students against social addiction, he motivated them to develop a passion for entrepreneurship and startup. He also requested the alumni to attend the outreach meetings at various places in the country.    

Prof. S Panigrahi, Director-in-charge asked the graduating students to bond with different alumni spread across the country.  Pointing out how the new inductees can play a major role in making the institute prosper in future, he was quoted

Till today, you were a proud NITian. Tomorrow, you will make NIT Rourkela proud”

Post the address by the aforementioned dignitaries, the alumni, and the outgoing students shared their experiences collected during their journey and their expectations from NITRAA. The event concluded with the Vote of Thanks offered by Prof. Bimal Bisi. This was followed by the dinner. It was a great event for the outgoing students to interact with some eminent alumni and have eternal ties with the institute. Team MM conveys their wishes to the NITRAA for their glorious journey ahead.

DISCLAIMER: The content, opinions or views expressed on the Monday Morning's website and its social media platforms, including, but not limited to Facebook, Instagram and Twitter pages, are strictly the property of Monday Morning and represent the extensive research and work of the working team of respective academic year of Monday Morning and not those of the institute. The reports and statements published are consolidated from the collected background research and interviews. The institute's official statements can be found in the press releases published by the institute or via an RTI application.

No article or any statements by Monday Morning is to be reproduced, presented or distributed in part or whole without prior permission of the Executive Body of Monday Morning for any purposes, including, but not limited to print and electronic form.


    Leave a comment

    Login to comment.
    Ask a Question Forum